h1

The Rundown On May 19th’s Major Hip-Hop Releases

April 29, 2009

So I was logged on Facebook the other day, and one of my friends brought up an interesting point; We’ve got three major hip-hop releases, all coming out on the same date. May 19th will see the release of Busta Rhyme’s eighth album B.O.M.B. (Back On My Bullsh**), Relapse from Eminem, and Method Man and Redman’s Blackout! 2. Now, I’m a fan of all three acts, but I’ll admit that the levels of anticipation for each vary from one another. So what’s a top priority for me? What can wait a while until I get as much feedback from others as possible? Let’s see!

eminem-relapse-cover-art
Eminem – Relapse
I’ve already expressed my thoughts on the singles that have been released, and I’m still remaining cautiously optimistic. Encore was just such a disappointment in general that I can’t help but wonder if Em’s just kinda lost it. I think he stretches his sense of humor a little too far, and a lot of it just isn’t as clever as it used to be. Not to mention any song he’s ever done that was tailor made to be a club joint. Eminem’s best when he’s playing off his emotions, and if that makes up the core of the tracks on Relapse, he can probably redeem himself.

busta-rhymes-bomb-album-cover
Busta Rhymes – B.O.M.B. (Back On My Bullsh**)
I WANT this to be a good album, just because Busta is still one of my favorite all-time MCs, and The Coming and Extinction Level Event are not only two of my favorite hip-hop albums, but just two of my favorite albums period. The issue I’m having is the fact that he’s had some great verses on other people’s stuff recently, but dammit if his current singles haven’t been rather underwhelming. I sure as hell couldn’t get with “Arab Money”, and the fact that Busta was trying to have a dance to go with it just made it more infuriating. Clearly, he can still spit when he’s really motivated, but I just don’t know what to think.

methredbo2
Method Man/Redman – Blackout! 2
To quote Jeremy Piven in Grosse Pointe Blank, “TEN YEARS!!! TEN FUCKIN’ YEARS?!?!? TEN, TEN!!!! TEN. . . . .YEEEEEEAARSSSS!!!” I remember reading a review of their first collab album, and it said something along the lines of it being unfair to other rappers when Method Man and Redman get together, and you’ll get no argument from me. As slept on as it is, Blackout! put a few cats on notice back in ’99, in my opinion. Some of the best verses of either rappers’ careers can be found on this album, and I’ve yet to be disappointed by anything that’s been released from the new album. The tracks are either solid or downright tight as hell, especially “Dangerous MCs”. But let’s be honest, this album isn’t going to get the promotion or hype it probably deserves. Outside of bloggers, are any major music press outlets doing ANYTHING to let people know about this album? It’s Red & Meth, for cryin’ out loud! Do I need to get Obama on the phone about this?!

Leave a Reply

